Winston-Salem (North Carolina)

Here is general information about Winston-Salem in North Carolina

Winston-Salem statistic

Coordinates 36°6′9.95″N 80°15′37.77″W
Country United States
State North Carolina
Counties Forsyth County
Founded 1766 (Salem), 1849 (Winston)
Consolidated 1913 (Winston-Salem)
Elevation 970 ft (300 m)
Demonym(s) Winston-Salemite
Time zone UTC−5 (Eastern)
ZIP code 27023, 27040, 27045, 27101-27110, 27113-27117, 27120, 27127, 27130, 27150, 27152, 27155, 27157, 27198-27199, 27284
Area code(s) 336/743
FIPS code 37-75000
Primary Airport Piedmont Triad International Airport
Interstates I-40I-74I-274I-285
U.S. Routes US 52US 158US 311US 421
Government (Mayor) Allen Joines (D)
Government (City Manager) Lee D. Garrity
Government (City) 133.82 sq mi (346.59 km2)
Government (Land) 132.61 sq mi (343.47 km2)
Government (Water) 1.20 sq mi (3.12 km2)
Area (City) 133.82 sq mi (346.59 km2)
Area (Land) 132.61 sq mi (343.47 km2)
Area (Water) 1.20 sq mi (3.12 km2)
Population (2020) (City) 249,545
Population (2020) (Rank) 5th in North Carolina 89th in United States
Population (2020) (Density) 1,864.78/sq mi (4,829.75/km2)
Population (2020) (Urban) 391,204 (US: 96th)
Population (2020) (Metro) 679,948 (US: 88th)
Population (2020) (CSA) 1,699,123 (US: 36th)

Time difference between Winston-Salem and other cities

Other cities info:

Winston-Salem is a city and the county seat of Forsyth County, North Carolina, United States. In 2020, the population was 249,545, making it the second-largest municipality in the Piedmont Triad region, the fifth-most populous city in North Carolina, the third-largest urban area in North Carolina, and the 90th most populous city in the United States. With a metropolitan population of 679,948 it is the fourth largest metropolitan area in North Carolina. Winston-Salem is home to the tallest office building in the region, 100 North Main Street, formerly known as the Wachovia Building and now known locally as the Wells Fargo Center. In 2003, the Greensboro-Winston-Salem-High Point metropolitan statistical area was redefined by the OMB and separated into the two major metropolitan areas of Winston-Salem and Greensboro-High Point. The population of the Winston-Salem metropolitan area in 2020 was 679,948. The metro area covers over 2,000 square miles and spans the five counties of Forsyth, Davidson, Stokes, Davie, and Yadkin.

Winston-Salem photos